« Two Thoughts About Justice Breyer's Retirement | Main | Faculty Hiring: Southern University Law Center »

Thursday, January 27, 2022

National Conference of Constitutional Law Scholars--Online

I am pleased to post this announcement. I will be presenting here for the first time.

The Rehnquist Center is pleased to announce the National Conference of Constitutional Law Scholars. This year’s event will be held entirely via Zoom due to the pandemic but will otherwise follow a similar format to previous years, with a series of panels organized by subject matter moderated by Distinguished Commentators. To avoid Zoom fatigue, the program will be limited to a single day on Saturday, Feb. 19. The goal of the conference is to create a vibrant and useful forum for constitutional scholars to gather and exchange ideas each year. To that end, the program will include opportunities for informal discussion between panels. Registration is free and all constitutional law scholars are invited to attend. Papers will be presented in panel sessions, organized by subject, with commentary by a distinguished senior scholar. REGISTER NOW: tinyurl.com/conlaw22

Lee Epstein will give a keynote lecture.

Distinguished Commentators for 2022 include: Maggie Blackhawk  Josh Chafetz Cary Franklin Jennifer Nou Richard Re Fred Smith

ADDITIONAL PRESENTERS Payvand Ahdout - Separation of Powers Avoidance Jill Anderson & Kiel Brennan Marquez - Robotic Interpretation Rachel Bayefsky - Contrition and Compulsion: Court-Ordered Apologies and the Constitution Jacob Bronsther & Guha Krishnamurthi - Optional Legislation Christine Chabot - Interring the Unitary Executive Nathan Chapman - Qualified Immunity and the Rule of Law Katherine Crocker - Qualified Immunity, Sovereign Immunity and Systemic Reform Travis Crum - The Lawfulness of the Fifteenth Amendment Craig Green - Beyond Statehood Yuvraj Joshi - Equality Compromised Andrea Katz & Noah Rosenblum - The Origins of the Administrator-In-Chief: Myers and the Progressive Presidency Gerard Magliocca - Robert Jackson's Non-Delegation Doctrine W. Kerrel Murray - Discriminatory Taint Aaron Nielson & Christopher Walker - Congress’s Anti-removal Power Ryan Scoville - The International Commitments of the Fifty States Bijal Shah - Beyond Functionalism: A Critical Analysis of the Separation of Powers and the Administrative State Carolyn Shapiro – Taking the Independent State Legislature Doctrine Seriously Charles Tyler & Heather Gerken - The Myth of the Laboratories of Democracy Ilan Wurman - Reconstructing Reconstruction-Era Rights CONFERENCE ORGANIZERS Andrew Coan, Arizona Rebecca Aviel, Denver Eunice Lee, Arizona Shalev Roisman, Arizona David Schwartz, Wisconsin For content-related questions please contact Andrew Coan ([email protected]). For logistical questions please contact Bernadette Wilkinson ([email protected]).
The William H. Rehnquist Center on the Constitutional Structures of Government was established in 2006 at the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law. The non-partisan center honors the legacy of Chief Justice Rehnquist by encouraging public understanding of the structural constitutional themes that were integral to his jurisprudence: the separation of powers among the three branches of the federal government, the balance of powers between the federal and state governments, and among sovereigns more generally, and judicial independence.

Posted by Gerard Magliocca on January 27, 2022 at 07:42 PM | Permalink


The comments to this entry are closed.