« The distraction of standing | Main | ABA Administrative Law Fellowship for Prospective Law Teachers »

Saturday, August 14, 2021

Call For Papers


The Rehnquist Center is pleased to announce the fourth annual National Conference of Constitutional Law Scholars. The conference will be held at the Westward Look Resort in Tucson, Arizona, on Feb. 18–19, 2022. Its goal is to create a vibrant and useful forum for constitutional law scholars to gather and exchange ideas each year. We hope to hold the conference in person but are mindful of the evolving public health situation and will be prepared to pivot to an online format if necessary.

Lee Epstein (Washington University St. Louis) will deliver a keynote address. Distinguished commentators for 2022 include:

• Maggie Blackhawk (NYU)
• Cary Franklin (UCLA)
• Richard Re (Virginia)
• Josh Chafetz (Georgetown)
• Jennifer Nou (Chicago)
• Fred Smith (Emory)

All constitutional law scholars are invited to attend. Those wishing to present a paper for discussion should submit a 1- to 2-page abstract by Oct. 1, 2021. All constitutional law topics are welcome, and both emerging and established scholars are strongly encouraged to submit. Selected authors will be notified by Nov. 1, 2021. Selected papers will be presented in small panel sessions, organized by subject, with commentary by a distinguished senior scholar.

The Rehnquist Center will provide breakfast and lunch for all registered conference participants. Participants must cover travel and lodging costs. Hotel information will be provided as the date approaches. There is a conference registration fee of $200. Registration fees will be waived for conference presenters and for students and faculty at University of Arizona Law. In addition, a limited number of scholarships are available to those unable to attend the event otherwise.

Proposal submissions should be sent to [email protected] by Oct. 1, 2021.

For logistical questions please contact Bernadette Wilkinson ([email protected]).

Register at bit.ly/conlaw22.

• Andrew Coan (Arizona)
• Rebecca Aviel (Denver)
• Eunice Lee (Arizona)
• Shalev Roisman (Arizona)
• David Schwartz (Wisconsin)

THE REHNQUIST CENTER (https://law.arizona.edu/rehnquistcenter)
The William H. Rehnquist Center on the Constitutional Structures of GoVernment was established in 2006 at the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law. The non-partisan center honors the legacy of Chief Justice Rehnquist by encouraging public understanding of the structural constitutional themes that were integral to his jurisprudence: the separation of powers among the three branches of the federal government, the balance of powers between the federal and state governments, and among sovereigns more generally, and judicial independence.

Posted by Gerard Magliocca on August 14, 2021 at 08:46 AM | Permalink


The comments to this entry are closed.