« The ERA and Justice Barrett | Main | DC Statehood »

Thursday, October 01, 2020

Call For Papers


The Rehnquist Center is pleased to announce the third annual National Conference of Constitutional Law Scholars. This year’s event will be held entirely via Zoom due to the pandemic but will otherwise follow a similar format to previous years, with a series of panels organized by subject matter moderated by Distinguished Commentators. To avoid Zoom fatigue, the program will be limited to a single, short day on Saturday, March 6. The goal of the conference is to create a vibrant and useful forum for constitutional scholars to gather and exchange ideas each year. To that end, the program will include opportunities for informal, small-group discussion between panels.

Jamal Greene will give a keynote lecture. Distinguished commentators for 2021 include:

Guy Uriel Charles
Maggie Lemos
Melissa Murray
Caleb Nelson
Jane Schacter
Lawrence Solum

Registration is free and all constitutional law scholars are invited to attend. Those wishing to present a paper for discussion should submit a 1- to 2-page abstract by November 1, 2020. All constitutional law topics are welcome, and both emerging and established scholars are strongly encouraged to submit. Selected authors will be notified by December 1, 2020. Selected papers will be presented in small panel sessions, organized by subject, with commentary by a distinguished senior scholar.

Please send all submissions or related questions to Andrew Coan: [email protected]
For logistical questions please contact Bernadette Wilkinson: [email protected]

Andrew Coan, Arizona
David Schwartz, Wisconsin
Shalev Roisman, Arizona

REGISTER NOW: bit.ly/conlaw2021

The William H. Rehnquist Center on the Constitutional Structures of Government was established in 2006 at the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law. The non-partisan center honors the legacy of Chief Justice Rehnquist by encouraging public understanding of the structural constitutional themes that were integral to his jurisprudence: the separation of powers among the three branches of the federal government, the balance of powers between the federal and state governments, and among sovereigns more generally, and judicial independence.

University of Arizona James E Rogers College of Law | 1201 E. Speedway | Tucson | AZ | 85721-0176

Posted by Gerard Magliocca on October 1, 2020 at 07:58 AM | Permalink


Stellar group!

Posted by: Orin Kerr | Oct 1, 2020 3:37:56 PM

The comments to this entry are closed.