« The District of Columbia and Presidential Elections | Main | JOTWELL: Pfander on Sutton on state constitutionalism »

Tuesday, January 29, 2019

National Conference of Constitutional Law Scholars

THE REHNQUIST CENTER is pleased to announce the second annual National Conference of Constitutional Law Scholars. The conference will be held at the Westward Look Resort in Tucson, Arizona, on March 9–10, 2019. Its goal is to create a vibrant and useful forum for constitutional scholars to gather and exchange ideas each year.

David Strauss will deliver a keynote address. Distinguished commentators for 2019 include:
• Jessica Bulman-Pozen • Gillian Metzger • Bertrall Ross
• John Harrison • Victoria Nourse • Stephen Sachs
• Aziz Huq

Emily Berman Individualization in the Age of Big Data
Kiel Brennan-Marquez Combinatorial Stare Decisis
Laura Cisneros The Supreme Court in the State of Exception: A Dialectical Model of Judicial Review
Laurence Claus Deciding Distribution
Travis Crum The Statutory Origins of the Fifteenth Amendment
Frederick Gedicks Fixed Constitutional Meaning and Other Implausible Originalisms
Paul Gowder Building We the People
Craig Green United/States: A Revolutionary History of Statehood, the United States,
and American Federalism
Stephen Griffin Optimistic Originalism Meets the Unfortunate Nineteenth Century
Tara Grove The Law of Interpreting Presidential Laws
Aziz Huq Article II and Antidiscrimination Norms
Andrew Kent “Faithful Execution” and Article II
Donald Kochan The Framing Effects of Labeling Constitutional Products
Earl Maltz The Ripples of Backlash: Same-Sex Marriage, The Election of 2004, and the
Contingent Nature of the Evolution of Constitutional Law
Lisa Manheim Reviewing Presidential Orders
Helen Norton The Government’s Speech and the Constitution
Kirsten Nussbaumer National Security and Election Law Autonomy
Zachary Price Symmetric Constitutionalism: An Essay on Masterpiece Cakeshop and the
Post-Kennedy Supreme Court
Christopher Schmidt Popular Constitutionalism: A User Guide
David Schraub Doctrinal Sunsets
Miriam Seifter Judging Power Plays in the American States
Carolyn Shapiro Democracy, Federalism, and the Guarantee Clause
David Sloss Universal Human Rights and Constitutional Change
Calvin TerBeek The Constitution as Political Program: The Republican Party and Originalism, 1977–88
Ilan Wurman The Specification Power

• Andrew Coan, Arizona
• David Schwartz, Wisconsin
• Brad Snyder, Georgetown

All constitutional law scholars are invited to attend. The Rehnquist Center will provide meals for all registered conference participants. Participants must cover travel and lodging costs. There is a conference registration fee of $50, which will increase to $75 after February 28, 2019. Registration fees are waived for students and faculty at UA Law. In addition, a limited number of scholarships are available to those unable to attend the event otherwise.

Please send questions to Andrew Coan ([email protected]).

For logistical questions please contact Bernadette Wilkinson ([email protected]).

The William H. Rehnquist Center on the Constitutional Structures of GoVernment was established in 2006 at the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law. The non-partisan center honors the legacy of Chief Justice Rehnquist by encouraging public understanding of the structural constitutional themes that were integral to his jurisprudence: the separation of powers among the three branches of the federal government, the balance of powers between the federal and state governments, and among sovereigns more generally, and judicial independence.


Posted by Howard Wasserman on January 29, 2019 at 01:54 PM in Teaching Law | Permalink


Terrific group of scholars.

Posted by: Orin Kerr | Jan 29, 2019 4:11:40 PM

The comments to this entry are closed.