« Pain Imaging | Main | More on Moving Away From Winner-Take-All Electoral Vote Distribution »

Wednesday, August 22, 2007

Workshops etc. this fall at FSU's College of Law

Notwithstanding the budget cuts we're facing across Florida, there are still plenty of interesting things going on, especially at the FSU law school this fall.  The juniors are continuing their own incubator workshop series and we'll be having a philosophy reading group as well as a new crim reading group;  more generally, our excellent external workshop series moves apace, with over 20 speakers coming to break bread with us and share wisdom. The workshop series schedule appears after the jump.  If you're a prawf who will be in T-town or nearby on those dates, let me know and we should be able to squeeze you in for lunch.

Speaking of wisdom, I'm particularly keen to hear David Schmidtz' presentation on the History of Liberty later this fall. Schmidtz is visiting FSU's law school this fall from the Philosophy and Economics Departments at the University of Arizona, where he heads the Philosophy of Freedom program. Not only a fellow Canadian by origin, he's also prone to writing philosophy of the sort that connects to the big questions, much like this wonderful essay. He joins Joseph Sanders, one of the leading torts and scientific evidence scholars in the academy, who will also be visiting us for the fall semester. We're very glad to have them both.

FALL 2007

         Thursday, September 6 - Professor Kristen Hickman, University of Minnesota. Topic: In Search of the Modern Skidmore Standard (Rossi)

Thursday, September 13 - Professor Suja Thomas, University of Cincinnati. Topic: Why the Motion to Dismiss Could be Unconstitutional (Wexler)

Friday, September 14 - Professor Heidi Hurd, University of Illinois. Topic: The Morality of Mercy (Bridgeman)

Monday, September 17 - Professor Randy Abate, Florida Coastal. Topic: TBA (Ruhl)

Thursday, September 20 - Professor Paul Robinson, University of Pennsylvania. Topic: What Distributive Principles Should Guide Punishment? (Markel)

   

Thursday, September 27 - Professor Joseph Sanders, University of Houston Law Center. Topic: A Norms Approach to Jury 'Nullification': Interests, Values and Scripts

   

Thursday, October 4 - Professor Daniel Rodriguez, University of Texas School of Law. Topic: Is Administrative Law Inevitable? (Rossi)

Monday, October 8 - Professor Royal Gardner, Stetson Law School. Topic: TBA  (Ruhl)

Wednesday, October 10 - Professor Erin O’Hara, Vanderbilt Law School. Topic: TBA  (Wexler)

   

Thursday, October 18 - Professor Gabriel J. Chin, University of Arizona. Topic: TBA (Markel)

   

Thursday, November 1 - Professor Matthew Stephenson, Harvard Law School. Topic: TBA (Seidenfeld)

   

Thursday, November 8 - Professor Julian Juergensmeyer, Georgia State University College of Law. Topic: TBA (Ruhl)

   

Thursday, November 15 - Professor Peter Strauss, Columbia Law School. (Distinguished Scholar in Residence during week of November 13-16) (Galle)

   

Thursday, November 29 - Professor David Schmidtz, University of Arizona (Department of Philosophy). Topic: The History of Liberty

 

SPRING 2008

Thursday, January 17 - Professor Margaret Blair, Vanderbilt Law School. Topic: Assurance Services as a Substitute for Law in Global Commerce (Rossi)

Thursday, January 24 - Professor Thomas Stratmann, George Mason University Economics Department. Topic: TBA (Falaschetti)

Thursday, January 31 - Professor Ethan Yale, Georgetown Law Center.  Topic: TBA (Galle)

Thursday, February 7 - Professor John Mayo, Georgetown University School of Business. Topic: TBA (Falaschetti)

Thursday, February 14 - Professor Jonathan Simon, University of California-Berkeley. Topic: TBA (Markel)

February 20-21 - Professor Jutta Brunnée, University of Toronto (Journal of Land Use & Environmental Law Distinguished Lecturer). Topic: TBA (Markell)

Thursday, March 20 - Professor Pamela Samuelson, University of California-Berkeley. Topic: TBA (de Larena)

Thursday, March 27 - Professor F. Scott Kieff, Washington University-St. Louis. Topic: TBA (de Larena)

April 4-5 - Critical Tax Conference (organized by Dodge/Galle)

Thursday, April 10 - Professor Rick Geddes, Cornell University Department of Economics. Topic: TBA (Falaschetti)

Monday, April 14 - Professor Suzanne Scotchmer, UC-Berkeley (Goldman School of Public Policy). Topic: TBA (Falaschetti)

Posted by Administrators on August 22, 2007 at 12:01 PM in Funky FSU | Permalink

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
https://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d8341c6a7953ef00e54ece083f8833

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Workshops etc. this fall at FSU's College of Law:

Comments

Post a comment